Stan Skafidas and Doreen Thomas elected as ATSE Fellows

Professor Stan Skafidas
Professor Stan Skafidas

Professor Stan Skafidas from the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Professor Doreen Thomas, Head of Mechanical Engineering, have been elected as Fellows to the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE).

The latest prestigious round of ATSE Fellowships places Professor Skafidas and Professor Thomas among a range of prominent figures from industry and academia, including BHP Billiton CEO, Dr Marius Kloppers and IBM Director R&D and CTO, Glenn Wightwick.

Director of the Centre for Neural Engineering, Professor Skafidas was recognised for his vision, leadership and major technical accomplishments in industry, research institutions, academia and international standardisation committees. In announcing the fellowship, ATSE noted that the adaptive frequency-hopping technology that Professor developed now forms a critical part of the Bluetooth standard and has been incorporated in several billion devices. His research in nano-electronics has advanced the disciplines of wireless communications, single chip radars and medical diagnostic systems.

Professor Doreen Thomas

The Melbourne School of Engineering’s Associate Dean (Research & Research Training) Professor Doreen Thomas was elected as an ATSE Fellow for her “outstanding international reputation for fundamental mathematical research in network optimisation.” ATSE noted that the software encapsulating Professor Thomas’ work is now used by the largest mining companies in the word to reduce underground mine development and haulage costs. “Professor Thomas has a national teaching award for her contribution to engineering education and mentorship and is a passionate ambassador for women in science and engineering.”

The Melbourne School of Engineering congratulates Professor Skafidas and Professor Thomas on this recognition of their outstanding achievements.