Call for nominations: Kernot Memorial Medal

The Kernot Memorial Medal is one of the most prestigious awards at the Melbourne School of Engineering.  It is awarded for distinguished engineering achievement in Australia, and in 2011, will be presented at the Gala Dinner as part of the School’s 150th Celebrations.

The Kernot Memorial Medal
The Kernot Memorial Medal

Established in memory of Professor William Charles Kernot, the first professor of Engineering at the University of Melbourne, the medal has been awarded to many prominent engineers since its establishment in 1925.  Previous recipients include Sir John Monash, Mr A. G. M.  Michell and Sir John Holland.

Nomination for the 2011 Kernot Memorial Medal are due by Friday, 19 August 2011.

The award is open to any persons resident in Australia for at least five of the past seven years before the award. The full University Trust Record governing the award can be found at

Nominations should be accompanied by a short curriculum vitae and extended citation (or rationale for nomination) to assist the selection committee in making their decision and should be sent to:

Ms Elise Everest
Alumni Relations Manager
Melbourne School of Engineering
Old Engineering Building
Wilson Avenue
University of Melbourne VIC 3010

T: +61 3 9035 3460


We look forward to congratulating the 2011 Kernot Medallist at the 150th Gala Dinner and offer our thanks in advance for all nominations received.